Directory of Legal Experts
The academics in the School of Law are experts in the wide field of law and they are actively engaged with the community as part of their teaching and research, and also in their personal capacity.

Below is a list of legal experts who can participate in panel discussions (Television & Radio) and also provide newspaper comments:

Area of Expertise

Person

Email

Telephone

Access of Justice

Prof Yousuf Vawda

vawday@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7860

Access to Medicines/Health

Prof Yousuf Vawda

vawday@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7860

Accounting for Lawyers

Mr Rob Pennefather

Pennefatherr@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5338

Administrative Law

Prof Michael Kidd

kidd@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5382

Administrative Law

Prof Karthy Govender

kgovender@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2546

Administrative Law

Prof Brenda Grant

grant@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5037

Administrative Law

Prof Max du Plessis

duplessism2@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2672

Advance Tax Law

Mr Chris Schembri

schembri@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2301

Banking Law & Negotiable Instruments

 Mr Avishkaar Ramdhin

 Ramdhina@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5378 

Children's Rights

Ms Annie Singh

singhat@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7691

Civil Procedure

Mr David Hulme

hulmed@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7993

Civil Procedure

Mr Adrian Bellengère

bellengerea@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2080

Civil Procedure

Mr Rob Pennefather

Pennefatherr@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5338

Civil Procedure

Prof Steve Pete

pete@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2490

Child Care and Protection Law

Prof Noel Zaal

zaalf@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7372

Clinical Legal Education

Prof Yousuf Vawda

vawday@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7860

Company Law

Prof Stephanie Luiz

luiz@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 3913

Company Law

Prof Robert Williams

williamsr@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5470

Commercial Law

Prof Robert Sharrock

sharrock@ukzn.co.za

033-260 5381

Commercial Law

Ms Rani Pillay

govenderr29@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 1406

Commercial Law

Ms Nicola Whitear-Nel

whitearnel@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5311

Commercial Law

Mr Lesala Mofokeng

mofokengl2@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 3146

Commercial Law

Mr Dave Holness

holness@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7743

Commercial Law and Corporate Law

Mr Darren Subramanien 

 subramaniend@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 6252 

Constitutional Law

Mr David Hulme

hulmed@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7993

Constitutional Law

Prof Warren Freedman

Freedman@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 6261

Constitutional Law and Human Rights Litigation

Prof Karthy Govender

kgovender@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2546

Constitutional Law

Mr Rowena Bernard

bernardr@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 1534

Constitutional Law

Ms Ann Strode

Strodea@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5036

Constitutional Law

Ms Munirah Osman-Hyder

Osmanm3@ukzn.ac.za

 

031-260 2979

Constitutional Law

Prof Max du Plessis

duplessism2@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2672

Consumer Law, Consumer Credit Act, Consumer Protection Act

Prof Tanya Woker

woker@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2566

Contract Law

Prof Robert Sharrock

sharrock@ukzn.co.za

033-260 5381

Criminal Law

Prof Shannon Hoctor

hoctors@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5376

Criminal Law

 Mr Avishkaar Ramdhin

 Ramdhina@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5378 

Criminal Law

Ms Shelley Walker

walkers1@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2672

Criminal Law

Ms Suhayfa Bhamjee

BhamjeeS@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5032

Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure

Prof Managay Reddi

reddim@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2549

Criminal Procedure

Ms Sandy Singh

singhsy@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7690

Criminology

Prof Steve Pete

pete@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2490

Customary Law

Ms Mothokoa Mamashela

mamashelam@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5682

Dispute Resolutions

Ms Benita Whitcher

whitcherb@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 1231

Environmental Law

Prof Michael Kidd

kidd@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5382

Environmental Law

 Mr Avishkaar Ramdhin

 Ramdhina@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5378 

Environmental Law

Prof Ed Couzens

couzense@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2557

Evidence

Ms Benita Whitcher

whitcherb@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 1231

Evidence

Mr David Hulme

hulmed@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7993

Evidence

Mr Adrian Bellengère

bellengerea@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2080

Family Law

Ms Mothokoa Mamashela

mamashelam@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5682

Family Law

Prof Marita Carnelley

carnelleym@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5040

Family Law

Ms Juanita Easthorpe 

easthorpej@ukzn.ac.za 

033-260 5038 

Family Law

Mr Michael Buthelezi

buthelezim@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7037

Family Law, Law of Persons dealing with parent-child relationships

Ms Usha Jivan

jivan@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 1405

Gambling Law

Prof Marita Carnelley

carnelleym@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5040

Gender Law

Ms Devina Perumal

perumald4@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2553

Gender & the Law

Prof Managay Reddi

reddim@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2549

Gender & the Law

Ms Munirah Osman-Hyder

Osmanm3@ukzn.ac.za

 

031-260 2979

Gender and the Law

Prof Brenda Grant

grant@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5037

Gender and the Law

Mr Michael Buthelezi

buthelezim@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7037

Humanitarian Law

Ms Shannon Bosch

boschs@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2920

Human Rights Law

Mr Rowena Bernard

bernardr@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 1534

HIV/AIDS & Law (Human Rights Issues)

Ms Suhayfa Bhamjee

BhamjeeS@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5032

Human Rights, AIDS and the Law, Constitutional Law

Ms Ann Strode

Strodea@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5036

Human Rights, HIV & Law

Ms Munirah Osman-Hyder

Osmanm3@ukzn.ac.za

 

031-260 2979

Human Rights

Prof Brenda Grant

grant@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5037

Human Rights

Prof Max du Plessis

duplessism2@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2672

Income Tax

Prof Robert Williams

williamsr@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5470

Insolvency Law

 Ms Sheetal Soni

sonish@ukzn.ac.za 

033-260 5383 

Insurance and Agency

Ms Shelley Walker

walkers1@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2672

Intellectual Property Law

Prof Tanya Woker

woker@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2566

Intellectual Property Law

Mr Andre Louw

louw@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7835

Intellectual Property Law

 Ms Sheetal Soni

sonish@ukzn.ac.za 

033-260 5383 

International Law

Mr Chris Schembri

schembri@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2301

International Law

Ms Sandy Singh

singhsy@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7690

International Law

Prof Max du Plessis

duplessism2@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2672

International Law

Ms Shannon Bosch

boschs@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2920

International Law

 Ms Sheetal Soni

sonish@ukzn.ac.za 

033-260 5383 

International Human Rights Law

Prof Steve Pete

pete@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2490

International Criminal Law

Prof Managay Reddi

reddim@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2549

International Criminal Law

Prof Max du Plessis

duplessism2@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2672

Jurisprudence

Prof James Mowatt

mowattj@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 8035

Jurisprudence

Prof Steve Pete

pete@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2490

Labour Law

Ms Juanita Easthorpe 

easthorpej@ukzn.ac.za 

033-260 5038 

Labour Law

Ms Tammy Cohen

cohen@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 1385

Labour Law

Mr Rowena Bernard

bernardr@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 1534

Labour Law

Prof Brenda Grant

grant@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5037

Labour Law

Ms Nicola Whitear-Nel

whitearnel@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5311

Labour Law

Ms Benita Whitcher

whitcherb@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 1231

Labour Law

Mr Darren Subramanien 

 subramaniend@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 6252 

Labour Law

Mr Andre Louw

louw@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7835

Law of Persons

Ms Rani Pillay

govenderr29@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 1406

Law of Persons

Ms Waheeda Banoobhai

BanoobhaiW@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5032

Law of Sale

Prof Lesley Greenbaum

greenbau@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2565

Legal Diversity

Mr Lesala Mofokeng

mofokengl2@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 3146

Legal Education & Legal History

Prof Lesley Greenbaum

greenbau@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2565

Litigation of socio-economic rights and the enforcement of Human Rights at the African regional level

Ms Lee Stone

stonel@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2847

Medical Jurisprudence

Ms Suhayfa Bhamjee

BhamjeeS@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5032

Medical Law

 Ms Sheetal Soni

sonish@ukzn.ac.za 

033-260 5383 

Mercantile Law

Mr Rowena Bernard

bernardr@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 1534

Negotiable Instruments

Prof Isobel Konyn

konyn@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 1489

Paralegal & Clinical Training

Mr Dave Holness

holness@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7743

Professional Training (drafting of court papers & advocacy)

Mr Rob Pennefather

Pennefatherr@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5338

Property Law

Prof Warren Freedman

Freedman@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 6261

Property Law

Mr Dave Holness

holness@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7743

Property Law

Ms Judy Parker

parkerj@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 1509

Property Law

Mr Chris Schembri

schembri@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2301

Sale and Lease and Credit Agreements

Mr Michael Wood-Bodley

woodbodleym@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2149

Security Law

Ms Singh Priya

singhpp@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5034

Socio-economic Rights

Mr Dave Holness

holness@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7743

Specific Offences

Mr Dumile Baqwa

Baqwad@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2601

Sports Law

Mr Andre Louw

louw@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 7835

Street Law

Mr Lloyd Lotz

Lotzl@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2489

Succession

Mr Michael Wood-Bodley

woodbodleym@ukzn.ac.za

031-260 2149

Trusts, Succession

Ms Singh Priya

singhpp@ukzn.ac.za

033-260 5034

 


Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved